| 
  • If you are citizen of an European Union member nation, you may not use this service unless you are at least 16 years old.

  • You already know Dokkio is an AI-powered assistant to organize & manage your digital files & messages. Very soon, Dokkio will support Outlook as well as One Drive. Check it out today!

View
 

Homeschooling in Florida

Page history last edited by Whitney Bryant 14 years, 10 months ago

Homeschooling in Florida

 

Every state has different laws, rules, and regulations pertaining to the homeschooling of children. In Florida there are specific things you need to be attentive to be able to begin homeschooling a child. This is a list of specific aspects that a person wanting to homeschool needs to know.

 

1. Florida has an attendance law that requires all students ages 6-16 need to adhere to.

 

2. Florida has three choices, or routs, a family can choose to home school. They are a non-campus based private school, a home education program, and or a private tutoring program.

 

3. Students that choose to go the private school option are considered private school students, not homeschooled students.

 

4. The biggest difference between the private school option and the home education program is the person who governs them, not how you teach your child. Non- campus private school students are governed by a private school, therefore follow the schools requirements. The home education program option is governed by the state, therefore the requirements and rules are controlled by the state.

5. Families who choose to start a home education program as per the statutes have several procedures to comply with. They must:

  • Send a Notice of Intent to the superintendent of schools for the district they live in;
  • Maintain a portfolio of records which includes a log made contemporaneously with instruction and samples of the student's work;
  • Provide for an annual evaluation, which must be filed with the school district;
  • Allow the superintendent (or his.her designee) to review their records with 15 days written notice;
  • Send a Notice of Termination when they stop homeschooling or move to another school district. (How To Home School, n.d., Homeschooling Through the School District/Super Attendant page, Para 3)

6. Whatever you decided between the non- campus based private school or home education program, joining a support group is a good idea, though not a requirement.

Resources

 

How to Homeschool A Guide to Getting Started in Florida. (n.d) Retrieved July 3, 2009

from:

http://southcountyhomeschoolers.org/SCHS/How%20to%20Homeschool.htm

 

State Homeschool Laws and Support Groups (2008) Retreived July 3,2009 from Another

Path, A Comprehensive Guide to Homeschooling your Deaf or Hard of Hearing Child Website:  http://www.deafhomeschool.com/essentials/statelaw/

 

Submitted by Whitney Bryant on July 3, 2009

 

HOME

Comments (0)

You don't have permission to comment on this page.